Erica McConnaughey

Web Developer

self portrait

About Me

Welcome to my portfolio!

I am a Front-End Web Developer with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I recently graduated from the NuCamp Full Stack Bootcamp in April 2020.

Why Web Development?

Once upon a time, it was 2014 and I was graduating from college. I was hired at the Phelps Center to teach robotics — a subject I knew nothing about. Luckily, I had an amazing co-teacher show me the ropes as I learned basic block programming alongside my students. This role opened my eyes to the world of computer science. Just a few months later, I met my future husband, Grant. He was a web developer and suddenly my worlds began to collide.

Fast forward 5 years and I was ready for a different career. I quit my job and did some soul searching. I am an introvert and I wanted a career where I could utilize my strengths without draining all of my energy. I love solving problems, finding efficient processes, designing the details, and learning new concepts. I realized that the perfect career field had found me — that is how I became a web developer.

Connect with Me ericamc03 LinkedIn ericamcconnaughey

Languages, Systems, & Platforms
  • CSS and Sass
  • HTML
  • JavaScript
  • Node.js
  • MongoDB
Frameworks and Libraries
  • jQuery
  • Bootstrap
  • FontAwesome
  • React & React Native
  • Express
  • Mongoose
  • Organization
  • Planning
  • Design
  • Editing
  • Detail-oriented
  • Communication

My Projects


Work Experience

  • Front-End Web Developer — April 2020 - present — University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Portfolio Evaluator — Jan. 2020 - present — Pearson Education
  • Gifted Educator — 2014-2019 — Phelps Center for Gifted Education
  • Circulation Assistant — 2011-2014 — Olin Library, Drury University

Personal Stuff

  • I am married to Grant McConnaughey — he's pretty cool.
  • We recently moved to Wisconsin, nine hours from where we both grew up. We did it for the cheese and beer.
  • We have a schnauzer-terrier mix named Mia. She is cute, but ornery.
  • My favorite things include: paperback books, yoga, baking, personality quizzes, ice cream, and traveling.